Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What's your ideal scenario over the next 3 months?
Quote: @MaroonBells said:
@supafreak84 said:
@MaroonBells said:
@supafreak84 said:
https://www.espn.com/video/clip/_/id/39485211

Interesting video posted on ESPN today from the McAfee show in which Dan Orlovsky doesn't think there is any way the Vikings can pay both Jefferson and Cousins and the Vikings are probably going to have to move off Cousins, who he thinks will get 40+ million a year on a 3 year deal. Also floated the idea again about the Vikings trading Jefferson to New England to try to move up for a quarterback. 
No, they can't coexist once their cap hits accelerate. I've been saying that for two years. But they can for a couple years. And you're not going to sign Cousins for much more than that anyway. I think what Orlovsky is saying is that you can't sign both to long-term deals. But I think everyone already knows that. 

I guess considering Kirk is 36, what's a long term deal? 2 years, 3 years...4? It almost sounds like Kirk won't sign for less than 3 years and under that scenario how much money gets kicked into dead years with our other free agent considerations? To me the Kirk Cousins contract and what the Vikings do is the most interesting story of the NFL offseason. A little over a month away from getting our answer 
A long-term deal in this case is anything that goes beyond 2 years. JJ's contract, if it's like most contracts, will accelerate in its 3rd year (2026). Kirk would have to be off the books by then. 

I haven't heard anything about Kirk not signing for less than 3 years. I think he likely WANTS 3, while the Vikings likely want 1. So the obvious compromise is 2. We'll see if the can come to an agreement. But it would not surprise me at all to see another team swoop in, not even blinking at 3 years...or even more. 
Me either...

Atlanta seems a front runner, Steelers/Raiders maybe, Broncos??? Sean might like Cousins for a few years.